VoiceThread Docs / Billing and Purchases / License renewal / Choosing not to renew

All License Types

If you cancel or choose not to renew your VoiceThread license, it will become disabled on the expiration date. Any regular members of your license will immediately lose access to their accounts. Administrators will be able to continue signing into their accounts for 60 days after the expiration date to allow time to reactivate the license. After that period, Administrators’ accounts will also become inaccessible.

If more than 60 days have passed since your license expired and you would like to renew, please contact us.

If your license remains disabled for 2 years, all content associated it will be deleted permanently. Please see the Data Retention Policy for more details.


Off-boarding Guide

Feature downgrades

By discontinuing a purchased license, you will be giving up these services that you might already be using:

  • Single sign on with your learning management system and/or SSO provider
  • Automatic account creation
  • Automatic roster syncing
  • Integrated assignment and grading features
  • Centralized management
  • Reporting and analytics
  • Automatic closed captioning
  • Personalized training services
  • Integration with Zoom/Kaltura media sources
  • Customized SLA and uptime guarantee
  • Same-day support
  • Unlimited exports
  • Custom domain and homepage

If your users have come to rely on integration with your learning management system, be sure to make them aware that they will no longer have that access.

Administrator tasks

If you would like to allow your users to continue accessing their past VoiceThread content, you must remove them from your license before your expiration date. This will downgrade their accounts to the free version of VoiceThread, and you will no longer have administrative control over them. They will be covered by our standard Terms of Service instead of any customized SLA we might have signed.

Free account limits

The free account will limit users to creating 5 VoiceThreads, and they will not be able to share securely, enable threaded commenting, or create groups.

Instructors who would like to continue being able to create new VoiceThreads can purchase stand-alone licenses with the instructions in the “Instructor” section below.

Instructor tasks

In order to access VoiceThread outside of your previous SSO or LMS integration, you’ll need to set a local password. You can do that here: https://voicethread.com/reset/

Once the password has been set, you can sign in using the “Sign in with email” option at https://voicethread.com.

If you would like to continue using an upgraded VoiceThread license so you can create more than 5 VoiceThreads and share securely, there are individual license options for both higher education and K-12.

Student tasks

In order to access VoiceThread outside of your previous SSO or LMS integration, you’ll need to set a local password. You can do that here: https://voicethread.com/reset/

Once the password has been set, you can sign in using the “Sign in with email” option at https://voicethread.com.

What happens to existing content?

If an account is downgraded to the free version via the administrator workflow above:

  • VoiceThreads: Any VoiceThreads you own will continue to belong to you and will appear in your account. Any VoiceThreads shared directly with you will continue to be shared with you.
  • Comments: No comments will be deleted.
  • Assignments: You will lose access to any integrated assignments you might have built in your learning management system. These cannot be accessed again elsewhere.
  • Courses/Groups: You will lose access to any groups or courses created under the institutional license previously. This also means you will not be able to see any VoiceThreads shared in those groups or courses.